Submit your Work to the Aesthetica Short Film Festival 2016: Now Open for Entries

Entries are open for the 6th edition of the BAFTA Qualifying Aesthetica Short Film Festival, one of the UK’s leading short film festivals and most exciting cinematic events. Films 30 minutes’ long and under are accepted within all genres: advertising, animation, artists’ film, comedy, dance, documentary, drama, experimental, fashion, music video and thriller.

2015 was the festival’s 5th anniversary, and in that time it has screened over 1,500 films from over 65 countries. The festival received 20,000 admissions across the four-day event, and held over 35 masterclasses and industry sessions with representatives from organisations such as Channel 4, Rankin Film, Association of Camera Operators and many more, creating a place for discussion and debate while filmmakers shared best practice and gained essential advice.

ASFF is a festival that celebrates innovation and excellence in filmmaking and presents many opportunities for industry engagement. It provides a chance for both established and emerging filmmakers to get their work seen by vast audiences, plus some of the world’s most acclaimed talents, and connect with festival programmers from the UK and around the world.

Prizes for ASFF 2016 include screenings at the festival, eligibility to enter the BAFTA awards, awards for Festival Winner, People’s Choice, Best of Category and the Northern Film School Award for Best Screenplay, plus cash prizes, editorial in Aesthetica Magazine and exposure through ASFF’s online channels.

The winners from 2015 include Petros Silvestros who was awarded Best Thriller and overall Festival Winner, chosen for the incredibly gripping A Confession. The fantastic Acoustic Kitty by Jennifer Sheridan won the hearts of the ASFF public and took home the People’s Choice Award and Best Drama went to Benjamin Cleary for his heartfelt film Stutterer, which recently won the BAFTA for Best Short Film (Live Action).

Entries close 31 May 2016. For submission guidelines and to enter, visit

1. Alex Warren & Tobias Ross-Southall (Eleanor Productions) Eleanor, 2015