Jury 2019

Aesthetica’s Jury brings together a range of backgrounds and expertise, from academia and commissioning, to production and direction. Our award-winning team of dedicated and talent professionals hail from all across the UK, representing key organisations such as ArtAngel, British Vogue, BBC, Spring Films and the Scottish Documentary Institute.

Advertising & Music Video

Bec Evans

Head of Video Development

Bec Evans is Head of Video Development at Dazed; she works across Dazed Media’s publications to direct, produce, programme and  commission in conjunction with editorial and commercial teams. Bec’s productions champion diversity.

Craig McNeil

Director of Creative Projects
Beggars Group

Craig is Director of Creative Projects at the Beggars Group of Labels. He joined Beggars in 1995 and has worked with artists including Adele, Dizzee Rascal, Jack White, British Sea Power, Interpol, Stornoway, Glass Animals, Daughter and The xx.

Luke Toyne

Executive Producer
Maker Projects

Luke’s first credit as producer was the first music promo to be shot in HD – the Sneaker Pimps’ “Sick” in 2001. Since then he has specialised in branded content and TV commercials for the likes of Saatchi & Saatchi, M&C Saatchi, Sky and ITV.

Animation & Comedy

Chris Shepherd

Independent Filmmaker

Chris Shepherd is a multi-award-winning director, writer and producer. From his award winning directorial debut for Channel 4 in 1997 with The Broken Jaw, Chris has worked on many renowned TV Shows and commercials including Nathan Barley.

Dionne Farell

Development Executive
BBC Films

Dionne is a Development Executive for BBC Films. Prior to joining BBC Films in 2018, Dionne started out as a runner in factual production, before moving over into scripted development, working for companies such as the BFI and Unigram.

Tom Box

Exec Producer, Blue Zoo

Tom co-founded Blue Zoo in 2000 and continues to be a driving force in the animation production company. He is executive creative within commercials and games, whilst managing Blue Zoo’s AnimDojo. Tom also runs the studio’s short film programme.

Artists’ Film & Experimental

Jacqueline Edenbrow

Executive Producer
The Guardian

Jacqueline Edenbrow is a film and television producer. She is currently Executive Producer in documentaries at the Guardian. She was previously an Executive Producer at VICE, working across documentaries and features.

Kit Monkman

Artist & Film Director

Kit is a leading innovator in screen-based art and interactive media. He directed the visually experimental feature Macbeth and co-directed The Knife That Killed Me. He is also co-founder of KMA – specialising in environmental installations.

Phoebe Roberts


Phoebe looks after The Artangel Collection, a body of moving image works commissioned by Artangel. She collaborates with the likes of Tate and with curatorial colleagues across the UK to exhibit these innovative pieces in new contexts.

Dance & Fashion Film

Jessica Bugg

London College of Fashion

Dr Jessica Bugg is Dean of the School of Media and Communication, London College of Fashion, University of the Arts London and was awarded a PhD from the same institution in 2006. Jessica’s work has been screened in venues including the ICA.

Minnie Carver

Video Producer
British Vogue

Minnie Carver’s role at British Vogue involves commissioning, producing and often directing filmed content for the magazine’s video platforms. Her work bridges the gap between print and digital, responding to printed and photographic features.

Sadie Clayton

Copper Designer and Artist

Sadie Clayton is designer exploring the creative boundaries between art, technology and fashion. Fascinated by innovation, Sadie has presented work at the Royal Academy of the Arts, Tate and V&A, and created content with Adobe films.


Lynn Nwokorie

Editorial and Programming Consultant

Starting out in production for feature film, commercials and museum projects, Lynn has worked across exhibition and distribution for BFI London Film Festival, Sheffield Doc/Fest, the British Film Institute and the Independent Cinema Office.

Noe Mendelle

Scottish Documentary Institute

Noé is an experienced director and producer on the international scene, working on numerous documentaries. In 2003 she set up the Scottish Documentary Institute, and over the years has devised several award-winning talent schemes.

Richard Melman

Managing Director
Spring Films

Richard has produced, directed and commissioned a wealth of programmes for both British and International broadcasters, including the BAFTA-nominated Cold War. He is the Executive Producer and Managing Director for Spring Films.

Drama &Thriller;

Cornelius Walker

Director / Screenwriter

Cornelius is a director and screenwriter and was the subject of the Oscar-Nominated documentary Black Sheep. He has worked with clients such as Google, William & Grant and HSBC as well as developing his feature film and TV projects.

Marion Comengre

Production Executive

Marion is a film studio executive who joined the UK division of Studiocanal in 2009, and Sky Drama in 2019. At Studiocanal, Marion worked on a variety of internationally acclaimed titles such as the BAFTA-winning Warp’s ’71, MacBeth and Yardie.

Max Park

Development Editor

Max is a Development Editor at Film4, Channel 4 Television’s feature film division. Max works with both new and established filmmakers. The company’s slate includes Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Ex Machina and Slumdog Millionaire

VR & Immersive

Alia Sheikh

Senior Development Producer
BBC Research & Development

Alia Sheikh is a director, producer, research scientist and a broadcast research engineer. Her work is focused on ensuring that the world’s oldest national broadcasting organisation understands the narrative potential of future immersive formats.

Dan Bartlett

Programme Director
London College of Communication

Dan Bartlett is Programme Director for Moving Image & Digital Arts at London College of Communication. Dan is an animation visual development artist exploring the duality of fundamental artistic principles and emergent digital technologies.

Elaine Wong

Partnerships Manager
StoryFutures Academy

Elaine is a Programme Advisor for BFI London Film Festival and previews for Sheffield Doc/Fest and Underwire. She co-founded VR Distribution company Other Set in 2017, and currently works at the National Centre for Immersive Storytelling: StoryFutures Academy.

Feature Jury

Ben Luxford

Head of UK Audiences

Ben Luxford is Head of UK Audiences for the British Film Institute. He is responsible for a range of funds and strategies designed to bring great films to audiences across the UK. Ben has worked in the UK Independent distribution sector for over 10 years.

Carol Salter

Documentary Filmmaker

Carol Salter is an award winning documentary director with a fine art and editing background. Her debut feature documentary Almost Heaven won Best Documentary at last year’s Aesthetica Film Festival and at the British Independent Film Awards.

Jason Wood

Director of Film and Culture

Jason Wood is Artistic Director at Film at HOME, Manchester, a centre for art, theatre and film. He is Professor of Film at both Manchester School of Art and the University of Salford, and an author of books on cinema. He is co-director of Always (crashing).