Filmic Examination

ASFF 2017 curates a roster of 12 industry professionals to select the recipients of ASFF’s prestigious awards, including Festival Winner and Best in Category. These talented individuals bring diverse skills to bear in critiquing the Official Selection, ensuring a holistic and thorough examination of each film.

Four-time BAFTA recipient, Emmy winner and producer Adam Gee joins the jury as one of the most experienced commissioners in UK television broadcasting specializing in short form/online video and digital interactivity. Andrew Fryer, Dean of the School of Film, Music and Performing Arts at Leeds Beckett University, has two decades of experience engineering and producing songs, having sold millions of copies of his music. Christine Morrow fosters emerging talents in short film through her work in Northern Ireland Screen, encouraging filmmakers to develop proof of concept films with a view to eventual feature production. Gisli Snaer is Acting Director & Head of Studies at the London Film School and possesses years of experience serving on juries for festivals like the 2002 Berlin International Film Festival Kinderfilmfest, the Ale Kino Film Festival in Poland 2003, Singapore Creative Video Competition 2011, 2014 and 2015 Endeavours International Documentary Film Festival in Singapore, Autism Uncut by The National Autistic Society in U.K., Fastnet Film Festival 2017 in Ireland.

Isabelle Croissant works at HOME, Manchester’s new international multi arts venue, where she programmes and produces events that showcase and develop creative talents, as well as managing HOME’s regular regional short film night, Filmed Up. Since 2010, Lydia Beilby has served as Short Film Programmer for Edinburgh International Film Festival, the world’s longest continuously running film festival. She also teaches courses on cinema and archives at the University of Edinburgh and is a founding member of artists’ collective Screen Bandita. Matimba Kabalika oversees talent development programme with BFI NET.WORK, and has previously worked at Partizan as a producer on commercials, music videos and short films. Experienced film programmer Philip Ilson is the co-founder and Director of the London Short Film Festival, having previously founded the Halloween Society Short Film Club and organised the Halloween Short Film Festival at the ICA in 2003.

Philip Sindall worked for seven years as an assistant film cameraman at the BBC before pursuing his dream to be a freelance features camera operator, a career that was kick-started with Paperhouse in 1987. Robbie Gibbon has worked as an editor and assistant editor on numerous productions including Face of an Angel, The Trip and Mad Fat Diary. He currently has a sitcom in development with producers Crispin Leyser and Deepak Nayar, and has a number of projects including The Chef, Hand it Back and Such is Life on a festival run. Sarah Ahern worked in Film and TV Production and Graphic Design before programming short films and the youth strand, Fantastic Flix, at the Audi Dublin International Film Festival. And finally, Stephen Whelan is Head of Branded Entertainment at Pulse Films, where he curates epic and culturally relevant multimedia content for international audiences.

Distinct from ASFF’s 2017 Jury is the ASFF 2017 Northern Film School Best Screenplay Jury, whose members hold considerable writing experience in both film and publishing. Annabelle Pangborn has worked extensively in film and television as a composer and sound designer on award winning drama, documentary, dance film and experimental animation. She is also a writer and has produced films through her own production company, and was appointed Director of the Northern Film School, Leeds, in 2017. Writer, director and producer Dan Weldon co-founded and co-owned the independent production company Tall Stories, where he nurtured the talents of emerging, first time writer/directors. He is currently writing At Sunset, a WW1 fantasy feature for Amerique Film in Montreal, and is about to re-release his award-winning first film, My Macondo, on DVD. Sarah Turner is an artist, filmmaker, writer, curator and academic whose 2015 feature, Public House, nominated for the Grierson Award and re-mastered for wider audiences in 2016.

Lastly, Editor of Aesthetica Magazine and Director of ASFF Cherie Federico joins the panel with her publishing extensive experience, having developed Aesthetica into an international brand found in 20 countries.

For more information about this year’s awards:

For more information about this year’s jury:

ASFF runs 8-12 November. For more information or to buy tickets:

1. Trailer for 2016 Dance winner, Marlene Millar’s Lay me Low.