ASFF 2016 Jury

Find out more about the jury of industry professionals selected the recipients of the awards at ASFF 2016.

Claire Barwell

Head of Film, UCA Farnham and Chair of NAHEMI

Claire Barwell is a filmmaker and film education professional who has led the BA(Hons) Film Production course at the University for the Creative Arts in Farnham since 2004. As Chair of NAHEMI since 2010 she has organised conferences for film educators and festivals of student work.

Craig McNeil

Beggars Group
Director of Creative Projects

Craig is Director of Creative Projects at the Beggars Group of Labels. He joined Beggars in 1995 and has worked with artists including Adele, Dizzee Rascal, Jack White, British Sea Power, Interpol, Daughter and The xx.

James Stevenson Bretton

Executive Producer, Blinkink

James Stevenson Bretton is Executive Producer of award-winning advertising production company Blinkink and a Creative Director. He has produced TV commercials and music videos for 10 years, including John Lewis’s The Bear & The Hare and Cravendale’s Barry The Biscuit Boy.

Karen Krizanovich

Journalist and writer

Karen is a journalist, writer, researcher and broadcaster based in London, Scotland and America, with credits on Stratton, Patient Zero, 24: Live Another Day and Gravity, among other productions. Her work has been published in The Times, The Sunday Times Style, Red, The Independent, The Telegraph, The Guardian and Elle.

Kathryn Ferguson


Belfast-born Kathryn Ferguson is a film director, film curator and fashion film research fellow, currently living and working in London. Her films have been nominated for awards at festivals around the world and she has directed videos for the likes of Lady Gaga, Sinead O’Connor and Neneh Cherry.

Katie Campbell

Skills Development Manager, BAFTA

Katie Campbell is BAFTA’s Skills Development Manager. As part of the Learning and New Talent team she works to share the expertise of BAFTA winners, nominees and members in order to sustain the film, TV and games industries with world-class creative skills. As a producer, her film Oh-be-joyful had its premiere in 2015.

Larra Anderson

Director, Northern Film School

Larra Anderson is the Dean of the School of Screen at the London College of Communication at University of the Arts London. Previous to joining LCC, Larra was the Director of the Northern Film School at Leeds Beckett University. Larra holds an MFA in Film Production from the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematics and is a Fellow of the RSA.

Lisa Bryer


Lisa Bryer has worked in the film industry for more than 30 years. During that time she has produced Oscar and BAFTA-winning films including Andrea Arnold’s Wasp and The Last King Of Scotland. She has worked on hundreds of music videos and live concerts for artists including The Cure and David Bowie.

Lydia Beilby

Edinburgh International Film Festival

Lydia Beilby is a moving image artist, curator and educator. Lydia has been Short Film Programmer for Edinburgh International Film Festival since 2010, has served on juries and panels internationally, collaborated with BAFTA on numerous panels, and hosted several workshops.

Mark Herman


Mark is a film writer and director best known for his hit films Brassed Off, Little Voice and, most recently, The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas. Mark studied animation at The National Film & Television School, but soon moved to writing and directing live action, his graduation film See You At Wembley, Frankie Walsh won an Oscar.

Peter Hort

Course Director, Film and Television Production, University of Westminster

Peter Hort runs the BA Film and Television Production course at the University of Westminster. Graduates of the course have received 29 BAFTA nominations and eight wins in recent years, and recent successes include a Grierson award in 2015, the Audience Award at Aesthetica in 2014, and the Student Academy Award in LA in 2012.