ASFF 2019 Jury Announced

ASFF is thrilled to welcome a dedicated selection of jurors to the festival this November, including representatives from BBC Films, Sky Drama and the Scottish Documentary Institute.

The jury for the BAFTA-Qualifying Aesthetica Short Film Festival 2019 (6-10 November) has been announced. Key figures tailored to a vast array of genres will be congregating in York to cast their eyes over this year’s spectacular competition spanning over 400 films.

Each year, over 20 prizes are awarded to those in competition: the People’s Choice Award as voted for by festival-goers, the York Youth Award, Best in Category, and the prestigious Best of Fest title, which also awards £1,000 in prize money. Last year, this went to Cornelius Walker for the affecting Guardian documentary Black Sheep, which touches on the life of Damilola Taylor. The film – which exposes the face of modern-day racism in the UK – was nominated for an Oscar at the 2019 Academy Awards.

Walker joins the festival jury this year amongst esteemed company – bringing together a range of backgrounds and expertise, from academia and commissioning, to production and direction. The jury follows on from ASFF’s commitment to supporting and championing excellence in independent film through leading organisations.

The representatives for ASFF’s 2019 jury are: 

  • Advertising & Music Video: Craig McNeil, Beggars Group; Luke Toyne, Maker Projects.
  • Animation & Comedy: Chris Shepherd; Dionne Farell, BBC Films; Tom Box, Blue Zoo.
  • Artists’ Film & Experimental: Phoebe Roberts, Artangel
  • Dance & Fashion Film: Jessica Bugg, London College of Fashion; Minnie Carver, British Vogue; Sadie Clayton, Fashion Designer.
  • Documentary: Noe Mendelle, Scottish Documentary Institute; Richard Melman, Spring Films.
  • Drama &Thriller: Cornelius Walker: Director / Screenwriter; Marion Comengre, Sky Drama.
  • VR & Immersive: Dan Bartlett, London College of Communication; Elaine Wong, The Other Set.

For more information about the 2019 Jury, click here.
ASFF runs 6-10 November. Click here to buy tickets.

1. Jim Poyner, Festival Photographer.