ASFF 2015: Awards to Recognise Outstanding Filmmaking Talent

The BAFTA Qualifying Aesthetica Short Film Festival champions excellence in short filmmaking from around the world. It returns for its fifth edition this year running 5-8 November 2015 across 15 venues in York. There are 300 films in the programme, plus guest screenings from Creative England’s iShorts and our featured countries: Cuba, China and Brazil as well as a French language strand.

All films in the Official Selection are competing for the following awards: Best of Category, People’s Choice and Best of Fest, which are announced at the Awards Ceremony on Sunday 8 November. This is also a chance for last minute networking. We outline the awards below, as well as highlighting a selection of previous winners.

Best of Category
There are 11 awards given out for the categories: advertising, animation, artists’ film, comedy, dance, documentary, drama, experimental, fashion, music video and thriller. These awards recognise an outstanding film from each genre and are highly competitive. Best Fashion Film last year went to Alex Turvey for his filmic exploration of Joseph Turvey’s new line for River Island. Featuring the model collective Justanorm, the film is fun and joyful, with striking designs and clean, bold shots.

People’s Choice
From 5-8 November, ASFF audiences are invited to vote for their favourite film screened in the Official Selection. Voting boxes are installed in each venue. Cullum Carver-Jones’s documentary The Wolf, The Ship, And The Little Green Bag won this award in 2014, chosen for its clever use of animation to capture the individual spirit of the characters in the film.

Best of Fest
This award is given to the overall festival winner, selected from those films which won Best of Category and People’s Choice. Manjinder Virk won this award in 2013 for her compelling short film Out of Darkness, starring Riz Ahmed, in which an aid worker’s experience of death is told through nine different voices.

The winning film receive an official ASFF 2015 Award to take home, plus there is a cash prize of £750 for the Best of Fest and £250 for the People’s Choice winners, supported by the Guild of Television Cameramen.

For tickets to ASFF 2015, visit

To see all of last year’s winners, visit

Follow us on Twitter @asffest for the latest news in film in the UK and internationally.

1. Alan Holly, Coda. Won Best of Fest in 2014.