All films in the Official Selection are in competition to receive a number of awards. These awards recognise outstanding talent in filmmaking practice, and are a prestigious accolade. The winning films are selected by a jury of industry experts, and are presented at the Closing Night Awards Ceremony. Previous winners at ASFF have gone on to achieve further award success, including wins at the Oscars (Stutterer, Benjamin Cleary, in 2016) and BAFTAs (The Bigger Picture, Daisy Jacobs, in 2015) and have broadened their audience beyond the film festival circuit. Festival programmers in attendance at ASFF have selected ASFF films to screen at other festivals internationally, and professional connections made at ASFF have resulted in several high-profile collaborations.

2017's Award Winning Films

Best Advertising: #WeBelieveInThePowerOfLove, Luca Finotti

Best Animation: Johnno’s Dead, Chris Shepherd

Best Artists' Film: For Real Tho, Baptist Penetticobra

Best Comedy: Fucking Bunnies, Teemu Niukkanen

Best Dance: Lil Buck with Icons of Modern Art, Andrew Margetson

Best Documentary: Homeland, Sam Peeters

Best Drama and Best of Fest: Wave, Benjamin Cleary

Best Experimental: The Happiest Barrack, Noemi Varga

Best Fashion: The Sleeping Field, That Jam

Best Music Video: Metaxas – Sirens, Savvas Stavrou

Best Thiller: Gridlock, Ian Hunt Duffy