ASFF 2017 Jury

Find out more about the jury of industry professionals selecting the recipients of the awards at ASFF 2017.

Adam Gee

Producer, ArkAngel Productions

Specialising in short form/online video and digital interactivity, Adam is one of the most experienced commissioners in UK broadcasting of TV-based multiplatform. He has won over 80 international awards, including four BAFTAs, an Emmy and the Grand Award at the New York International Film & TV Festival.

Andrew Fryer

School of Film, Music & Performing Art, Leeds Beckett University

Andrew Fryer is Dean of the School of Film, Music and Performing Arts at Leeds Beckett University. He is a songwriter and music producer with 20 years of experience in the industry, working for Warner Chappell Music, Polydor Records, BBC TV and radio, film production companies, and numerous independent record labels.

Christine Morrow

Short Film Executive, Northern Ireland Screen

Christine began working for Northern Ireland Screen in January 2004. She is currently working on several initiatives through the Northern Ireland Screen BFI Net.Work initiative. Shorts to Features is a development scheme encouraging the development of proof-of-concept short films with a view to eventual feature production.

Gisli Snaer

Acting Director & Head of Studies at The London Film School

Gisli Snaer is a dedicated and passionate educator, and currently Acting Director &  Head of Studies at the London Film School, and former Head of The Puttnam School of Film, LASALLE College of the Arts in Singapore. Gisli channels his creativity through the art of photography, media, film and storytelling.

Isabelle Croissant

Programme Manager, Digital & Creative Development, HOME

Isabelle works at HOME, Manchester’s new international multi arts venue. She programmes events that aim to showcase and develop creative talents and forge connection between practitioners in all creative sectors. She also manages Filmed Up, HOME’s regular regional short film night.

Lydia Beilby

Short Film Programmer, Edinburgh International Film Festival

Born in York in 1984, Lydia Beilby is a moving image artist, curator and educator. Lydia has been Short Film Programmer for Edinburgh International Film Festival since 2010, has served on juries and panels internationally, collaborated with BAFTA on numerous panels, and hosted several workshops.

Matimba Kabalika

Talent Manager, BFI NET.WORK

Matimba looks after the talent development programme BFI NETWORK and the accompanying website. She joined BFI in 2012 after she spent four years at Partizan working on a number of projects including production on commercials and music videos.

Philip Ilson

Director, London Short Film Festival

Philip Ilson is the Director of the London Short Film Festival, which he co-founded with Kate Taylor in 2004. A premier showcase for cutting-edge UK independent film, LSFF is renowned for its innovative cross-arts programming and showcase of the country’s raw talent.

Philip Sindall

Association of Camera Operators

Philip Sindall studied film production at Harrow College of Technology and Art, before being lucky enough to secure a post as an assistant film cameraman at the BBC. After 7 years he moved on to pursue his dream of being a freelance features Camera Operator, which became a reality on Paperhouse in 1987.

Robbie Gibbon


Robbie has worked as an editor and assistant editor on productions including Face of an Angel, The Trip, Mad Fat Diary, The Casual Vacancy, and is currently working on Doctor Who. Outside of his editing work, Robbie continues to develop his own projects collaborating and developing relationships with filmmakers.

Sarah Ahern

Programmer, Fantastic Flix & Short Film & Projects Manager, ADIFF

Sarah Ahern programmes short films and the young people’s strand, Fantastic Flix, at the Audi Dublin International Film Festival (ADIFF). Sarah’s role at ADIFF spreads across projects management, audience development, industry engagement and key festival relationships with partners and funders.

Stephen Whelan

Founder, Executive Producer, White Lodge

Stephen Whelan is the founder and Executive Producer of White Lodge, an award winning creative strategy and production house offering high-end content for the fashion, luxury and lifestyle industries. White Lodge was founded in 2011 to produce for brands increasingly aware of their presence in the digital online space.