ASFF: Submission Deadline

ASFF: Submission Deadline

Today is your final chance to register your short film for the BAFTA qualifying Aesthetica Short Film Festival 2017. Running from 8 to 12 November in venues across the historic city of York, the festival is an ideal platform for emerging and established filmmakers to showcase their work, as well as making them eligible for BAFTA nomination. If you film pushes the boundaries of its genre and has a run-time of under 30 minutes, we want to hear from you – filmmakers have until midnight GMT tonight to enter ASFF 2017.

Here’s a reminder of the opportunities available to our Official Selection:

The Prizes
The overall Festival Winner and Best Film in each category will receive exposure from ASFF online and editorial coverage in Aesthetica, as well as future screening opportunities at festivals across the country. The Festival Winner will be awarded £1,000 prize money. There’s also a People’s Choice award up for grabs: a prize voted for throughout the festival via ballot boxes located at screening venues. The Northern Film School Award for Best Screenplay, sponsored by the Northern Film School at Leeds Beckett University, returns this year to recognise outstanding talent and support future career development by awarding the winner £1,000, and young people aged 11-14 will be invited to nominate their favourite film for the York Youth Vote Award.

BAFTA Eligibility
Films in the Official Selection will be one step closer to the BAFTAs. As a BAFTA qualifying festival, ASFF provides its filmmakers with partial eligibility for the awards (see rules and guidelines). In 2015, The Bigger Picture by Daisy Jacobs won the British Short Animation Award at the BAFTAs, while in 2016, Benjamin Cleary’s Stutterer received an Oscar. Many of our films also continue to travel across the international short film festival circuit.

Our Jury will be selecting the final winners of the 2017 festival. This year is comprised of Andrew Fryer, School of Film, Music & Performing Art, Leeds Beckett University; Christine Morrow, Short Film Executive, Northern Ireland Screen; Isabelle Croissant, Programme Manager, Digital & Creative Development, HOME; Jane Roscoe, Director, The London Film School; Lydia Beilby, Short Film Programmer, Edinburgh International Film Festival; Matimba Kabalika, Talent Development Manager, BFI NET.WORK; Philip Ilson, Director, London Short Film Festival; Philip Sindall, Association of Camera Operators; Robbie Gibbon, Editor; Sarah Ahern, Programmer, Fantastic Flix & Short Film & Projects Manager, ADIFF; and Stephen Whelan, Founder, Executive Producer, White Lodge.

ASFF is the perfect place to make new contacts in the industry. If you are successful with your entry, you will be able to attend the festival as an ASFF Filmmaker, with access to a range of networking opportunities. Throughout the festival, we run numerous events such as Meet the Filmmakers, Meet the Film Festivals and Industry Networking Sessions. Alongside all of this, we have an extensive Masterclass line-up, where experts from across the UK speak about their experiences in the industry. Expand your network; engage in new discussions while also discovering innovative films.

ASFF 2017 deadline is midnight GMT tonight. For full entry guidelines and to submit, visit:

1. Pollen, Experimental 2016.